@work blog (ver. 0.07)

27 07 2006

Here is some stuff that I saw quite interesting from the short time I’ve been working with Microsoft’s sales department selling their business accounting program to U.S. businesses:

~ Our division has already acquired the sense of “minority” targeting. We literally start frothing from the mouth and go into a rabid frenzy when we see the Lee’s, Hajim’s, and the Jimenez’s on our database lists, sadly.

~ Washington state buyers sound like everyone else from the rest of country, a bit irritated that they have to go through a sales call during their work day, until I mention I’m calling from the almighty Microsoft then they literally transform into open minded, spineless zombies, SCREAMING AT US TO TAKE THEIR MONEY….and I just get the sudden urge to boom at the top of my lungs, “KNEEL BEFORE ZOD!!!” On that note, everyone else from the rest of the country just treats us like aliens…

~ Is it just me or is there a large influx of cleaning services in Arizona? WHY IS THAT?! I don’t know whether to see this as people who are really clean or people who are really dirty…

~ I HATE PEOPLE WHO ENTER THEIR INFO IN ALL CAPS BECAUSE I JUST KNOW THAT THEY’RE EITHER SOME CRAZY HICK, SOME STUCKUP PERSON IN UPPERMANANGEMENT, OR SOMEONE WHO NEVER FIGURED OUT HOW TO TURN OFF THEIR CAPS LOCK!

I work adjacent to a call center so a lot of times I overhear a lot of quips that are really out there. And now…Quotes from the Call Center! (M/F defines the gender)

(M) Rep1: “So, what would you rather have, an extra eye, arm, or leg?”

(F) Rep2: “An extra eye…..so I can go <spins finger in circles while being cross-eyed> wooooooooot”

***awkward silence***

(M) Rep3: “I think I would want an extra arm, then I’d become a boxer…I’d be soooo good and become the world heavyweight champ!!! I’ll be famous!!!”

(M) Rep1: “I think that would sorta freak people out yo’…”

~Strangely, no one opted for the extra leg.~

This is a pretty ironic quote and made me smile….inside…

“I just got off the phone with a lady with the most horrible english, and she got angry at me when I tried to correct her! If she can’t speak English she shouldn’t have called-ed me!”

Yea, so just in case you were wondering what customer support reps talk about after you hang up…